Sleeping Giants

Book Title: Sleeping Giants (Themis Files Book 1)

Author: Sylvain Neuvel

Publisher: Michael Joseph

Publication Date: April 1st 2016

Genre(s): Sci Fi & Fantasy, General Fiction ( Adult)

Pages: 320

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

My Review: I’ve finished this book but my jaw is still stuck to the floor, literally, I’m not kidding. I’ve spent most of the night finishing this book. I got to a point where I thought there was no way I was a) going to put the book down for a break or b) hold off for another day. There was only one option and that was to keep going until my eyes had taken in the last word on the last page.

I must give a huge thank you to Netgalley and Penguin UK for allowing me to have this advanced reading of Sleeping Giants. It is very much appreciated to have been given this opportunity. I am happy to say that on the back of this, I’ve completed this book and I’m on the other side of it – all I can say is ‘it’s been a blast’.

A few reviews of this book have compared it to such books or films as that of the Martian or Pacific Rim but I can’t say that I agree. I think this book deserves to stand alone and hold its own commendation. From corruption to governmental conspiracies, this book is so fast paced, your head is full of fuzz 100% of the time.

To put a measure on the reading strength I would have to say it is on a very easy reading scale due to the novel being purely dialogue and transcripts. I absolutely loved the style. It was intriguing and pulled you into the story even further, hence the ‘not being able to put it down’.

From damn right bossy to a hidden agenda the characters had it all. I have to admit straight away that my favourite character has to be the interviewer, but one question still on my lips is … he, or she? On occasion the interviewer is referred to as ‘Sir’ however there is no definitive answer as to the gender, which leaves an underlying mystery. One thing I will say though is he or she is one hell of a toughie. Wow!!

Throughout reading the book I was never once bored. This pure sci-fi book was an absolute blast and a pleasure to read. I can’t help but wonder though that throughout the series – which I have to admit I cannot wait for the next instalments to be released – whether the delightful evilness that comes across throughout the entirety of the novel will continue or cease at some point leaving way for something more tangible to take place.

Everyone … I highly recommend this book to you all.

About the Author: Sylvain Neuvel dropped out of high school at age 15. Along the way, he has been a journalist, worked in soil decontamination, sold ice cream in California, and peddled furniture across Canada. He received a Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Chicago. He taught linguistics in India, and worked as a software engineer in Montreal. He is also a certified translator, though he wishes he were an astronaut. He likes to tinker, dabbles in robotics and is somewhat obsessed with Halloween. He absolutely loves toys; his girlfriend would have him believe that he has too many, so he writes about aliens and giant robots as a blatant excuse to build action figures (for his son, of course). For more information about Sylvain Neuval, visit his website.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s