The Butterfly Garden


Book Title: The Butterfly Garden

Author: Dot Hutchison

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publication Date: June 1st 2016

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 289

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

My Review: Having just finished this novel I am currently sitting resembling a pufferfish – my cheeks are so blown out, I now need to breathe!

The Butterfly Garden is nauseating, grotesque and just wrong on so many levels, but I just couldn’t put it down. What a read! It has left me breathless.

Dot Hutchison’s imagination has gone way beyond any aspect of fiction. I did at one point throughout the novel think this would make a great film, but then I quickly scrapped that thought as I just couldn’t imagine watching something so distressing, knowing that what happens in this story could actually happen in real life. It is quite a scary thought process.

My mind is so mixed up at the moment I cannot think straight.

This is one novel of 2016 I highly recommend and I must send a huge thank you to Netgalley and Thomas and Mercer for allowing me to read an ARC.

About the Author: I’m a (mostly) YA writer with a background in theatre, Renaissance Festival living chessboards, and freefalls. I can lose hours at a time Wiki-surfing interesting articles that may or may not have anything to do with my research, and I like to think that St. George regretted killing that dragon for all the rest of his days. A WOUNDED NAME came out in 2013 from Carolrhoda Lab; THE BUTTERFLY GARDEN in June 2016 from Thomas & Mercer, and ROSES OF MAY will be following in 2017. For more information on Dot Hutchison, visit her website.

Leave a Reply

