Rattle


Book Title: Rattle

Author: Fiona Cummins

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Publication Date: January 26th 2017

Genre(s): Crime, Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 496

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: A psychopath more frightening than Hannibal Lecter.

He has planned well. He leads two lives. In one he’s just like anyone else. But in the other he is the caretaker of his family’s macabre museum.

Now the time has come to add to his collection. He is ready to feed his obsession, and he is on the hunt.

Jakey Frith and Clara Foyle have something in common. They have what he needs.

What begins is a terrifying cat-and-mouse game between the sinister collector, Jakey’s father and Etta Fitzroy, a troubled detective investigating a spate of abductions.

Set in London’s Blackheath, Rattle by Fiona Cummins explores the seam of darkness that runs through us all; the struggle between light and shadow, redemption and revenge.

It is a glimpse into the mind of a sinister psychopath. And it’s also a story about not giving up hope when it seems that all hope is already lost.

My Review: Why is everything rated out of 5*??? 5* isn’t enough, I need more than that for this novel!

If ‘Rattle’ by Fiona Cummins is a debut novel, I will quote a favourite saying of my beautiful late Grandma … ‘I’ll eat my hat!’ What have I just read?? I’ve read a novel that has left me petrified and too afraid to turn the light off at night. It’s been a while since a book has affected me in this way. I think the last time this happened was when I was in my early teens and I used to attempt to read books way beyond my years. Seriously, I cannot get Rattle out of my head and the fact the novel ended wide open, I’m left with a barrage of questions.

I would love to see Rattle made into a tv series. I was imagining it all throughout the novel, especially the ‘Bone Collector’ character … all I could picture was David Bradley. NOT that I’m saying David Bradley looks like a sick and twisted serial psychopathic killer who prays on children … (off to hide, oops, ha) … it’s just that Fiona Cummins’ description of the character is him down to a ‘T’, it’s uncanny.

When I initially read the book description and saw the line ‘a psychopath more frightening than Hannibal Lecter’ I thought hmm ok, maybe this is just a piece of advertising hype to hook readers in but, you’ve guessed it … I WAS WRONG and the description was correct. There’s only once in a blue moon that a rare gem of a novel comes along that really grips you, refusing to let go, and I think Fiona Cummins has written the latest one. This novel deserves praise to the highest level. It is outstanding, consistent, keeps you hooked and is persistently spine tingling. I honestly cannot wait for her next one!

I would like to thank Netgalley, Pan Macmillan and Fiona Cummins for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of Rattle. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

About the Author: Fiona Cummins is an award-winning former Daily Mirror showbusiness journalist and a graduate of the Faber Academy Writing A Novel course. She lives in Essex with her family. Rattle is her first novel.

Leave a Reply

