Too Good To Be True


Book Title: Too Good To Be True

Author: Ann Cleeves

Publisher: Pan

Publication Date: February 4th 2016

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, Short Stories, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 113

Format Received: eBook

Goodreads: Too Good To Be True is a gripping Quick Read from Ann Cleeves, featuring Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez from the bestselling Shetland series.

When young teacher Anna Blackwell is found dead in her home, the police think her death was suicide or a tragic accident. After all, Stonebridge is a quiet country village in the Scottish Borders, where murders just don’t happen.

But Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez soon arrives from far-away Shetland when his ex-wife, Sarah, asks him to look into the case. The local gossips are saying that her new husband, Tom, was having an affair with Anna. Could Tom have been involved with her death? Sarah refuses to believe it – but needs proof.

Anna had been a teacher. She must have loved kids. Would she kill herself knowing there was nobody to look after her daughter? She had seemed happier than ever before she died. And to Perez, this suggests not suicide, but murder …

My Review: As a fan of Vera and Shetland – the TV series – I have never, yet, ventured out to read the books. When I saw the Quick Read called Too Good To Be True by Ann Cleeves based on her Jimmy Perez Detective series (which I love), I thought I’d give it a go. After all, at only 112 pages it was short enough to get through fast, and also not a full length novel that would have been wasted if it had been at my distaste … a pet hate of mine is when I hear people giving up and not finishing a book – I just can’t bring myself to do it; regardless of whether it is good or bad I have to get to the end of the book. Fortunately, putting all of this aside, I found Too Good To Be True a great quick read and I actually found myself quite sad that I read it in one sitting meaning it was over far too fast.

As with her TV adaptations, Ann Cleeves has again brought together elements like no other can do to create a story with a twist I didn’t see coming. How she managed to do it with such a small word count is beyond me but I’m sure glad she did as it has given me an hour of reading that I thoroughly enjoyed with a great base of characters and realistic place settings so descriptive you almost feel like a part of the novel yourself.

About the Author: Ann Cleeves is the author behind ITV’s Vera and BBC One’s Shetland. She has written over twenty-five novels, and is the creator of detectives Vera Stanhope and Jimmy Perez – characters loved both on screen and in print. Both series are international bestsellers. In 2006 Ann was awarded the Duncan Lawrie Dagger (CWA Gold Dagger) for Best Crime Novel, for Raven Black, the first book in her Shetland series. In 2012 she was inducted into the CWA Crime Thriller Awards Hall of Fame. Ann lives in North Tyneside. For more information about Ann Cleeves, visit her website.

Leave a Reply

