Behind Closed Doors

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-12-32-25

Book Title: Behind Closed Doors

Author: B A Paris

Publisher: Harlequin

Publication Date: February 11th 2016

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 352

Format Received: eBook

Goodreads: Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

My Review: This novel was released a while ago and had so much hype surrounding it, I kept my distance until the brewed storm had calmed down. Why? Why did I wait so long? HOLY GUACAMOLE!!!!! I’ve no idea. What a novel. I have lost count of the amount of times I have gasped and shrieked! Honestly, it’s goose pimply and spine tingly good!!

‘Behind Closed Doors’ is a cliche that is heard in many a conversation but after reading this book, you will be made aware that it has a whole new petrifying meaning. Jack Angel especially is a character you do not want to cross paths with, although if the novel’s description of him is anything to go by, you will be hooked at first sight, just like poor Grace and Millie.

The characters portrayals are very strong. Focused on three characters, as mentioned above: Jack, Grace (Jack’s wife) and Millie (Grace’s sister), the novel follows Jack and Grace and portrays them to the reader as the perfect couple with the perfect life. Just what we allllllllll dream of. But … ‘behind closed doors’ all is not what it seems. What starts as love at first sight at the grandstand in the park with marriage three months later, a glorious honeymoon and a grand house built to their own specification, not to mention a perfect circle of fiends soon turns into a sinister and chilling psychological life for Grace. My knuckles were white reading the horrendous torture Jack put Grace through. That man … how he had the nerve is beyond me!!

This novel is terrifying, and what makes it so terrifying is the fact that the entire story is so believable. Not one part of it is far fetched … this could happen in real life. I shudder to think … !!! It will capture your heart for the sake of poor Grace and will blow your mind at how deviously clever Jack is. Once you’ve read it, you will find it will stay with you for a long time. We are two and a half weeks into a brand new year and already I have to admit this book will be on my ‘best of 2017’ reading list!!

About the Author: B A Paris grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. Behind Closed Doors is her first novel.

10 thoughts on “Behind Closed Doors

  1. I loved this book so much, I couldn’t believe the whole psychology of it. It was just stunning! I was left speechless when I finished reading and didn’t know what to do with myself!! Didn’t know what other book I could read after that would measure up to it. Can’t wait to read B A Paris new book “The Breakdown” coming out in 3 weeks time!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. oh, so was I! I was so happy for her too. I really liked the very end and had tears in my eyes, as I was not expecting this. I read this book around the summer but it stayed with me for a looooong time!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Same here, it’s on my ‘Favourites’ Goodreads list. Shame I haven’t come any other bloggers talking about it. Hence why I jumped to the chance to comment when I received your new post in my inbox! 🙂 I was dying to talk to someone about this book :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

