Lying in wait – Liz Nugent #blogtour

lying-in-wait-blog-tour-paperback

‘My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.’

Lydia Fitzsimons lives in the perfect house with her adoring husband and beloved son. There is just one thing Lydia yearns for to make her perfect life complete, though the last thing she expects is that pursuing it will lead to murder. However, needs must – because nothing can stop this mother from getting what she wants …

Lying in wait by Liz Nugent is published by Penguin in January 2017 and is the author’s second novel. I read and reviewed her debut novel, Unravelling Oliver in December 2016.

Many thanks to Sara D’Arcy at Penguin for allowing me to take part in the Blog Tour for Lying in Wait. You can read my thoughts about the novel below when back in October 2016, I had the pleasure of reading an ARC provided by Penguin …

My review: A huge thank you to Netgalley and Penguin for an advanced reading copy of the brilliant and exhilarating novel Lying In Wait by Liz Nugent – wow!

The opening line to this novel is magnetic … ” My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.” – You read it and immediately you are attracted to a novel which at first appearance seems to be the average run of the mill crime novel but quickly it turns into something that is sinister, absorbing, malicious and manipulative.

From the first sentence you are trapped, there is no letting go. After reading Liz Nugget’s first novel Unravelling Oliver, I was hoping for the same level of intensity … I got it and much more!!!!

To coincide with the blog tour for Lying in Wait, I am thrilled to announce a featured author Q&A session with Liz Nugent …

Hi Liz, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background? I grew up in Dublin, Ireland where I now live. In my late teens, I lived and worked in London for a few years. I spent ten years working in theatre and fourteen years working in television. I am married with no children, no pets, no plants.

What are your ambitions for your writing career? I would like to be able to continue just as I am, but with a little less pressure. I would like at some stage to write a stage play and I’m in discussions about writing a new tv drama. Also, I’d like to change genre in a few years and write comedy. I know it’s very hard to get right, but I’d love to give it a go.

So, what have you written? Two novels, Unravelling Oliver and Lying in Wait; a children’s animation tv series, a tv play, a radio play, a number of short stories and nostalgic pieces for radio. I also worked on a soap opera for ten years.

What is your most recent novel? Lying in Wait

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Lydia is extremely manipulative. She easily bends people to her will. She is highly neurotic and dangerously psychopathic. She thinks she is the best mother in the world. She is the worst.

What genre are your books? They fall into the crime category, but within that they are psychological suspense/ domestic noir stories.

What draws you to this genre? I always loved books and tv shows that had very damaged characters at their core. From Heathcliff to Tony Soprano, they were far more interesting to me than the good guy detective types.

When did you decide to become a writer? I still haven’t decided. Ha ha! I’d still quite like to be a Formula 1 driver. I never really made a decision about it, I guess, but I always wrote.

Do you have a special time to write or how is your day structured? I try to write in the morning and do my admin stuff in the evening.

Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day? I aim for 1000 words per day. I tried to up it to 2000 recently, but that really is just exhausting and not sustainable for me. 1000 is a good number.

Where do your ideas come from? Anywhere and everywhere. Obituaries are a great source of interest though. People we have never heard of leading fascinating lives…

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer to just see where an idea takes you? I always start out with a plot but the story always diverges from that and then I tend to wing it. A minor tangent can lead you to interesting places, but there must be a reason for everything. I do not like to waste words. I am very economical with my story telling.

How long on average does it take you to write a book? I’ve only written two. The first one took about six years while I was working full-time and the second took two years. I have no idea how long this one is going to take!

How do you think you’ve evolved creatively? The editing process is a steep learning curve and I am blessed with a particularly good editor. The trust between writer and editor is sacred. She has taught me so much. I probably take less risks with my writing now. I’m not sure whether that’s a good or a bad thing, but I really don’t want to waste time experimenting any more.

Do you read much and if so which writers inspire you? I read all the time across all genres and there is something inspirational about every book, because the sheer commitment of the writer is admirable. The last six authors I have really enjoyed are Kit de Waal, Donal Ryan, Jane Casey, Sebastian Barry, Ruth Ware & Rachel Rhys.

What is your favourite book and why? Hard to pick one! Wuthering Heights or A Fine Balance or The Book of Evidence or The Secret History? They all have fantastic characterisation and tremendous plotting, plus they are all essentially about the human condition and psychology.

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? To Kill a Mockingbird. Not only was it a fantastic book, but Harper Lee never had to write another one and lived the rest of her life as a recluse. I’d love that.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? Read, read, read. And then write the kind of book you like to read. And finish it.

Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included? My books will be published by Simon & Schuster in the US in 2017. I’m pretty excited about that. Thank you so much for being such a supportive blogger!

How can readers discover more about you and your work?
Website: www.liznugent.ie
Facebook: click here
Twitter: click here
LinkedIn: click here
Amazon Author Page: click here

lying-in-wait-blog-tour-liz-nugent

About the author: In her early career Liz Nugent worked as a stage manager in theatres in Ireland and toured internationally. More recently, Liz has written extensively for radio and television drama. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Francis McManus Short Story Award. She lives with her husband in her native Dublin. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel. For more information about Liz Nugent, visit her website.

If you would like to follow the Lying in Wait Blog Tour, you can do so at the following dates:

lying-in-wait-blog-tour-poster

Leave a Reply

