Good Me Bad Me


Book Title: Good Me Bad Me

Author: Ali Land

Publisher: Michael Joseph

Publication Date: January 12th 2017

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 352

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: SET TO BE ONE OF THE MOST EXTRAORDINARY, CONTROVERSIAL AND EXPLOSIVE DEBUTS OF 2017 – for fans of quality psychological suspense and reading group fiction: once you read this book you’ll want to talk about it.

‘NEW N A M E .
NEW F A M I L Y.
S H I N Y.
NEW.
ME . ‘

Annie’s mother is a serial killer.
The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.
But out of sight is not out of mind.
As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.
A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.
But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.
Good me, bad me.
She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

My Review: I would like to thank Netgalley, Penguin UK, Michael Joseph Books and Ali Land for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of Good Me Bad Me. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

There’s been a lot of hype over Good Me Bad Me, including a lot of media hailing it as one of the best reads of 2017 … remember, the year has only just begun so it must be amazing, right? After reading it, I can say yes … it’s been one hell of a read. It has taken me on a journey filled with so much intensity, that now I’ve finished the novel, I finally feel like I can breathe and relax.

This is a debut, yeah?? I can’t believe it! Ali Land writes with such style and magnitude, you actually become the characters. You feel their every word. You feel their every emotion. You cringe, you stop breathing, and you shrink as you wait for the next strike to hit (and believe me, there’s plenty of those). That’s the ferocity of her writing. It’s brutality, but not in a bad way. It’s brutality in a good way (if that can ever exist) as it’s how Ali Land reels her readers in. She just does it so well and it’s sooooooo effortless.

Good Me, Bad Me is a chilling psycholocal read. Focused on fifteen year old Millie who has suffered at the hands of her mother throughout her childhood – a mother who is a serial child murderer – you are whisked away into a world of fear, abuse, trepidation and tension as Millie is taken into foster care whilst her mother is arrested, charged and awaiting the trial. Not until the trial, about a third of the way into the novel, are you actually exposed to the details of the murders. You may be thinking that’s a long wait to get to that part of the novel but believe me when I say … the build up is immense. You need to cling on to every word as each one is important. They’re like dominoes, each knocking into the other causing a fallout.

Overall, this is an amazing novel. I can’t wait to read more from Ali Land. If this is her first then isn’t it only supposed to get better?? WOW!!!! Well done Ali. You have acquired another fan.

About the author: After graduating from university with a degree in Mental Health, Ali Land spent a decade working as a Child and Adolescent Mental Health Nurse in hospitals and schools in the UK and Australia. Ali is now a full-time writer and lives in a creative warehouse community in North London. Good Me Bad Me has been translated into over twenty languages.

Leave a Reply

