See What I Have Done


Book Title: See What I Have Done

Author: Sarah Schmidt

Publisher: Tinder Press

Publication Date: May 2nd 2017

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, Literary Fiction, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 336

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: When her father and step-mother are found brutally murdered on a summer morning in 1892, Lizzie Borden – thirty two years old and still living at home – immediately becomes a suspect. But after a notorious trial, she is found innocent, and no one is ever convicted of the crime.

Meanwhile, others in the claustrophobic Borden household have their own motives and their own stories to tell: Lizzie’s unmarried older sister, a put-upon Irish housemaid, and a boy hired by Lizzie’s uncle to take care of a problem.

This unforgettable debut makes you question the truth behind one of the great unsolved mysteries, as well as exploring power, violence and the harsh realities of being a woman in late nineteenth century America.

My Review: I would like to thank Netgalley, Grove Atlantic, Atlantic Monthly Press and Sarah Schmidt for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of See What I Have Done. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

We all know the story of Lizzie Borden. It is horrendous, sickening and damn right vile, and of course we all love a story that is all three so it’ll be no surprise when I say as soon as I heard about Sarah Schmidt’s reimagined account for her novel See What I Have Done I knew I had to read it.

Schmidt’s writing style is imaginative and highly descriptive. Each time I read the words ‘cold mutton broth’ I felt sick. I feel queasy thinking about it now. Vile! Disgusting!

I found the use of multiple narrations throughout the novel a fascinating feature. Each narration showcased a different side of the story from several characters running along a timeline including Lizzie herself, her sister, housemaid and her uncle’s friend. The novel also lent itself to a clever structure with very strong characterisations.

Overall, despite some parts feeling drawn out, the novel is captivating from the beginning.

5 thoughts on “See What I Have Done

Leave a Reply

