The Kind Worth Killing

img_0055

Book Title: The Kind Worth Killing

Author: Peter Swanson

Publisher: Faber and Faber

Publication Date: February 3rd 2015

Genre(s): Crime, Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 325

Format Received: Audiobook

Goodreads: ‘Hello there.’ I looked at the pale, freckled hand on the back of the empty bar seat next to me in the business class lounge of Heathrow airport, then up into the stranger’s face.
‘Do I know you?’

Delayed in London, Ted Severson meets a woman at the airport bar. Over cocktails they tell each other rather more than they should, and a dark plan is hatched – but are either of them being serious, could they actually go through with it and, if they did, what would be their chances of getting away with it?

Back in Boston, Ted’s wife Miranda is busy site managing the construction of their dream home, a beautiful house out on the Maine coastline. But what secrets is she carrying and to what lengths might she go to protect the vision she has of her deserved future?

A sublimely plotted novel of trust and betrayal, The Kind Worth Killing will keep you gripped and guessing late into the night.  

My Review: The Kind Worth Killing has many an accolade including being shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Dagger Award of 2015 and I have to say I am not surprised. What a gritty hard to put down novel!

Having seen this on many book shelves in bookstores as well as hearing a lot of raving reviews, especially from friends and fellow bloggers I tried as long as I could to hold off from reading it. You know how it goes … raving reviews with thousands of lips chatting about a novel can sometimes be a disappointment when you, yourself begin reading it, but I grit my teeth and instead of buying and reading the book of The Kind Worth Killing, I jumped the fence and grabbed the audiobook. I LOVED IT! I LOVED IT! I LOVED IT!

I am not normally one for audiobooks. In fact it must be gone ten years since I listened to one, but I just don’t know … the narration really gripped me. The buzz I got from listening compared to reading was extraordinary. It was like watching a TV show or film without the visual. The actors carrying out the narration were amazing. Maybe, it’s because I often become bored of the voice in my head reading a book back to myself, but the actors really got into the story and made me stop and stare quite often … literally!

The storyline is petrifying and 100% suspenseful. Full of double crosses and misdirection’s you think you have it and the story is fulfilled , but then WHAM, the author sends you on yet another journey. The characters are crazy, self indulgent, manipulative sociopaths who couldn’t care less about anybody but themselves. Lily has become my favourite character of all time. That girl … pffh, she doesn’t stop at anything. A sociopath through and through.

Overall, A Kind Worth Killing got me. It got me good. With a devilish plot full of characters you would NEVER want to cross paths with or meet and writing so elegantly presented, you’ll find it slip in and out of your life leaving your breathless.

About the Author: Peter Swanson is the author of three novels: The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, an LA Times Book Award finalist; The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; and his most recent, Her Every Fear. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. For more information about Peter Swanson, visit her website.

3 thoughts on “The Kind Worth Killing

Leave a Reply

