The Girl Before



Book Title:
The Girl Before

Author: JP Delaney

Publisher: Quercus

Publication Date: January 26th 2017

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, Psychological Thriller, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 416

Format Received: ARC (Hardback)

Goodreads: Enter the world of One Folgate Street and discover perfection . . . but can you pay the price?

For all fans of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl comes this spellbinding Hitchcockian thriller which takes psychological suspense to the next level

Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there – and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before. As twist after twist catches the reader off guard, Emma’s past and Jane’s present become inexorably entwined in this tense, page-turning portrayal of psychological obsession.

Following in the footsteps of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, The Girl Before is being brought to the big screen. The film is set to be directed by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.

My Review: I would like to thank Hannah Robinson, Quercus Books, JP Delaney and Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of The Girl Before. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

The Girl Before is a cracking read. It is so fast paced, it’s a white knuckle ride and with chapters maybe 3 or 4 pages long, you find yourself flying through them. Once I reached the half way mark, there was no stopping me … I had to finish it!!

It is a breath stopper. Prepare yourself if you’re going to purchase and read it, you won’t be putting it down. It made me gasp many times. JP Delaney has created a cutting edge novel full of so much deceit and manipulation that you find yourself accepting the extreme minimalism portrayed throughout as being the right way to live. You just find that you’ve come to accept it as the norm. All of this coupled with the alternating chapters between past and present quickly catching up with each other and you have one heck of an explosive read.

This has been on my ‘to be read’ pile for a while now but I’m glad I chose ‘now’ as my time to read it. The only trouble is … what can I read next that can match it or beat it??

Leave a Reply

