Bully Boy Blue


Book Title: Bully Boy Blue

Author: John Nicholls

Publisher: Independently Publishing

Publication Date: March 20th 2017

Genre(s): Psychological Thriller, Crime, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 60

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: Every aspect of Kathy’s life is dominated by her violent bully boy husband. Now she’s pregnant and in fear for her life. Can she ever escape him?

My Review: I would like to thank John Nicholls and Maxine Groves from Booklover Catlady for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of Bully Boy Blue. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

This is a great novella. I devoured it in one sitting. Not just for the fact it is a quick read but more for the fact the story is so gripping with characters that pull you right in to the crux of a storyline you just know goes on behind closed doors day in and day out. It makes you want to scream and shout and inform everyone that if there’s suspicion shout up – it’s vital!!

I think John Nicholls has been brave to write about such a delicate subject and I think it is a massive achievement for this subject to get recognition in this way. Abuse is a cloud that encumbers a range of variations; physical, emotional and verbal to name but a few and this novella covers the lot.

All throughout the book I prayed for an outcome. Did I get it? Well … you will have to read Bully Boy Blue to find out. One thing I will say though is just as you get to the ending, John Nicholls throws in a few sentences that will make you clench your teeth and shout ‘nooooooooooooo’ for a very long time to come. 

Overall, a great short, quick read. I think I’ll be looking out for more stories from John Nicholls.

Leave a Reply

