The Missing Ones (Detective Lottie Parker #1)


Book Title: The Missing Ones

Author: Patricia Gibney

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: March 16th 2017

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 424

Format Received: ARC (eBook)

Goodreads: The hole they dug was not deep. A white flour bag encased the little body. Three small faces watched from the window, eyes black with terror.

The child in the middle spoke without turning his head. ‘I wonder which one of us will be next?’

When a woman’s body is discovered in a cathedral and hours later a young man is found hanging from a tree outside his home, Detective Lottie Parker is called in to lead the investigation. Both bodies have the same distinctive tattoo clumsily inscribed on their legs. It’s clear the pair are connected, but how?

The trail leads Lottie to St Angela’s, a former children’s home, with a dark connection to her own family history. Suddenly the case just got personal.

As Lottie begins to link the current victims to unsolved murders decades old, two teenage boys go missing. She must close in on the killer before they strike again, but in doing so is she putting her own children in terrifying danger?

Lottie is about to come face to face with a twisted soul who has a very warped idea of justice.

My Review: I would like to thank Patricia Gibney, Bookouture and Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of The Missing Ones. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

The Missing Ones is a phenomenal read, and for a debut novel – when I say good, I mean gooooooooood.

There is a lot of detail, but normally where I would shy away from too much detail, when reading The Missing Ones this was not the case. The ‘too much detail’ is what grabbed me and had me hooked. It was almost like the book needed that extra detail because without it, the story wouldn’t have worked.

There is a really strong storyline throughout with a believable plot and character set. Whilst reading it, it kept reminding me of Unforgotten staring Nicola Walker and believe when I say if you haven’t watched Unforgotten, please go and do so; the two series that have been on ITV so far has been blindly magnetic – it’s like dynamite and this is how The Missing Ones has left me feeling.

Overall, as you can tell, I enjoyed The Missing Ones and with the storyline jumping between the past and present; the past had me desperate for more as each chapter ended and the next one begun, and the present was so enthralling I felt like I was a part of the storyline.

About the Author:My name is Patricia Gibney and I’m from Mullingar, County Westmeath. Right in the heart of Ireland. Surrounded by lakes, Mullingar is damp and wet most of the year but when the sun shines it is a little piece of heaven on earth. I’ve lived here all my life. I’m widowed, seven years in May, but was married to Aidan since 1982. I’ve three children who keep me sane, or maybe keep the madness at bay, just a little bit! I say that because I am an artist and a writer. I started writing, for therapy, when Aidan died. I secured an agent in January 2016 and she is fighting my corner in an effort to get my debut novel published. Three years ago, I decided to get serious about it. I joined The Irish Writers Centre. Started doing courses. I love reading crime thrillers so it was obvious to me to start writing in the crime genre. And let me tell you, it is not easy. A crime novel needs to be tightly plotted and plotting is the bane of my life. I prefer to write straight off the top of my head. Oh, Oh. Feels good when writing but then comes the editing. I lost 20,000 words in the process. But at least I am proud to say I got it done. I am now writing the second novel in the series, featuring Lottie Parker and a host of credible characters. They are all part of my extended family, you know the kind – people you love one minute and want to kill the next! So join me on this journey and lets see where it leads us. For more information about Patricia Gibney, visit her website.

Leave a Reply

