Close To Me


Book Title: Close To Me 

Author: Amanda Reynolds

Publisher: Wildfire

Publication Date: July 27th 2017

Genre(s): Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction (Adult)

Pages: 384

Format Received: ARC (Paperback)

Goodreads: Close To Me is a gripping debut psychological drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty’s bestselling The Husband’s Secret, Clare Mackintosh’s I Let You Go, and Linda Green’s While My Eyes Were Closed.

She can’t remember the last year. Her husband wants to keep it that way.

When Jo Harding falls down the stairs at home, she wakes up in hospital with partial amnesia-she’s lost a whole year of memories. A lot can happen in a year. Was Jo having an affair? Lying to her family? Starting a new life?

She can’t remember what she did-or what happened the night she fell. But she’s beginning to realise she might not be as good a wife and mother as she thought.

My Review: I would like to thank Amanda Reynolds, Wildfire Books and Ella Gordon at Headline for allowing me the opportunity to enter a competion to win an ARC of Close To Me, and of course for picking out my name as the winner! I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

What a great read for a debut novel. I was only into the novel about maybe 10 pages or so and I was already finding myself shouting and screeching so much I thought I was losing my mind – in a good way, just to clarify! THEN at chapter 7, something happened in the story that just clicked and from then on in the story escalated and sped on so fast I hated every single second I WASN’T holding the book!

As the chapters alternated between before and after Jo’s fall, the intensity of the novel and the writing style to me was in no way the style of a debut novel. I found myself gripping the book so much so that white knuckles definitely came into play, reminiscent of the style of an author who has been writing books forever, for many years, with a plethora of books under their belt.

As mentioned above, on many occasions throughout the book I found myself screeching at the book. I really felt for Jo’s character. I could never imagine what it would or must be like to lose a whole years worth of memories after a fall, never mind finding out a number of truths that just knocks you off your feet at such a time when those closest to you are needed the most and you just can’t trust them. I mean, could you? All I wanted for Jo was for her memory to come back so she could remember everything. 

Overall, Close To Me was an exhilarating read that left me on the edge of my seat for the entirety of the novel. There was plenty hidden within the story, peeking out from underneath it’s hiding nooks at different points in the story making me desperate for it all to be shown – patience isn’t my strongest point! 

Well done Amanda Reynolds for a strikingly hot debut novel and of course, many thanks again for picking me out as your competition winner.

About the Author: Amanda Reynolds is an author and creative writing tutor. Her debut novel, published 2017 by Wildfire (a new imprint of Headline) as their first fiction title, is Close To Me. 

Close To Me will also be published in the US, Russia, France and Italy and has been optioned for TV. 

Amanda lives in the Cotswolds with her family and two very furry dogs.

She has worked as a goat milker, a teaching assistant and a sales trainer. More recently she was the book reviewer for The Cheltonian and taught regular creative writing classes and workshops.

She now writes full-time, taking a sabbatical from teaching to write her second book, due out in 2018.

Leave a Reply

