Dear You – Tessa Broad – #blogtour


I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour today for Dear You, written by Tessa Broad and published by Red Door Publishing.

BLURB:
Tessa Broad wanted children. She longed for them. It wasn’t to be. In this candid and moving memoir, Tess writes to the children that never were. She writes to them as their adult selves with openness and honesty and tells them of the childhood she envisaged for them and the mother she believed she would be. She describes her reluctant transformation from the woebegone, wannabe mummy that she once was, to the woman she is now; childless but chilled, sailing through Mother’s Day with a smile on her face. Happy. From the ‘trying for a family’ stage to the relentless treadmill of infertility treatment, Tess recounts her story with humour and pathos, taking the reader on her journey with her, sharing her experiences, the roller-coaster ride of IVF, the sudden departure of the husband whose children she wanted to have and ultimately to acceptance that the life she wanted and expected was not hers for the taking. This is a breathtaking memoir that offers a shoulder to lean on for everyone experiencing the uncertainties and pain of infertility.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
WKphizPr
Tessa Broad was a self-confessed urbanite living in London until she met her second husband and made the momentous move to Cornwall where she has embraced country life with vigour!

MY REVIEW: I would like to thank Tessa Broad and Red Door Publishing for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of Dear You prior to taking part and being a stop on the blog tour. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

What a read!!!!

I’ve laughed, I’ve cried and I’ve witnessed via this superb memoir the trials and tribulations of a process that in all honesty should be such a natural given, but, is in reality such a heartbreaking time for some. Of course, what I am talking about is the art of conception. To many it comes easily, but to others, it doesn’t, and with it comes stress and strain that both physically and mentally is a torturous journey that takes its toll on all involved.

Dear You is a quick read that I found I could not put down. With only line breaks – in amongst a couple of chapters, that’s all – I found it a great incentive to just tuck myself in and GO! By page 9 I was laughing hysterically (if you like Sex in the City and voice overs … seriously, this book is for you), however don’t get me wrong, this did not happen all the way throughout – I did reach for the box of tissues.

Tessa Broad is such a great author. Staying true to herself, I felt as though I was a friend and we were sitting chatting over lunch or a few cocktails in a bar. Her style of writing really brings her character to life, it felt like a narration – which I guess was the intention. I loved it. She has such a quirky personality.

Despite this however, there were times throughout Dear You that I sat back and readjusted my thinking a little. It’s things like finding that even professionals sometimes can be damn right harsh and uncaring when their role is to be there for you. You know, when you’re going through rounds upon rounds of IVF and a nurse tells you that it’s a waste of time and it would be easier and cheaper to go home and get a dog – I mean, really?? Don’t these people even realise that they could just as easily find themselves in this situation?

Overall, Dear You is a honest journey of a woman who was never lucky enough to conceive naturally, or with the help of professionals. Sad really, isn’t it? It is an honest letter to the children she never had, outlining to their adult selves every single step of the way how, if she had been lucky enough to conceive them, their upbringing from the day of birth to the realms of the day they would grow up fast and find their own feet would have been a great learning adventure together.

Although sad, Dear You is also a happy read, and one, which at times will have the reader in hysterics – it did me.

From Dear You, I felt that all the difficult, dark times endured have been turned into great learning tools leaving a lasting message that from a negative, a positive is always just a step away.

BLOG TOUR DETAILS:
If you would like to follow the Dear You Blog Tour, you can do so at the following dates:
img_0928

BUYING LINKS:
Amazon UK: Click Here

Leave a Reply

