Exquisite – Sarah Stovell – #blogtour

Capture

I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour today for Exquisite, written by Sarah Stovell and published by Orenda Books.

BLURB:
A chilling, exquisitely written and evocative thriller set in the Lake District, centring on the obsessive relationship that develops between two writers…

Bo Luxton has it all – a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name.

Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead-end jobs and a freeloading boyfriend.

When they meet at a writers’ retreat, the chemistry is instant, and a sinister relationship develops… Or does it?

Breathlessly pacey, taut and terrifying, Exquisite is a startlingly original and unbalancing psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Sarah Stovell
Sarah Stovell was born in 1977 and spent most of her life in the Home Counties before a season working in a remote North Yorkshire youth hostel made her realise she was a northerner at heart. She now lives in Northumberland with her partner and two children and is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Lincoln University. Her debut psychological thriller, Exquisite, is set in the Lake District.

MY REVIEW: I would like to thank Sarah Stovell, Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan at Orenda Books for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of Exquisite prior to taking part and being a stop on the blog tour. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

Debut novel??? Really??? Is this really a debut novel??? WOW!!! I’ve just finished it, put it down and I am sweating – what a journey Exquisite has taken me on … I’M PETRIFIED!!! If ever there is a real life person such as Bo Luxton and you happen to cross her – get out, get away and stay clear of her. She is 100% evil. In fact, I’m certain if I were to pick up a dictionary now, her name would be beside the word ‘evil’, defining the word in the most outrageous and horrifying way.

Sarah Stovell … where does your mind live? What do you feed it on? What an imagination. Exquisite had me gripped in every single way I can think possible. It’s been a while since I’ve read a book that’s left a lasting effect on me and I think it’s all down to the fact that what happened in the story could and probably has somewhere to some poor soul happened in real life. Scary or what? I mean imagine? I don’t think I can. It’s a possibility but one you’d rather put away to the back of your mind. I know I certainly would!

So … Exquisite, what’s it’s all about?? I won’t go into detail because hey, all you avid readers out there need to go and make a purchase – I’m not kidding – you really do. BUT to let you know a little of what you’ll get, and what you’re in for … all I can say is you’ll be on the receiving end of a story that’s so full of chilling deceit you’ll be reading it not knowing which character to believe – exactly like me. All the way throughout, I was criss crossing my thoughts so much I didn’t know which character was telling me the truth, which was spinning the lies and to be fair, if the character’s story really existed at all or whether my mind was at the point where it had been completely blowing away, I was imagining it all!!

I need to wrap up this review now. I’m still trembling! What will I read next I hear you say? Are you kidding me? Nothing will stand beside Exquisite good enough!! Well done Sarah Stovell for blowing my mind completely out of the water with a story that will stay with me for a verrrrrrry long time!

BLOG TOUR DETAILS:
If you would like to follow the Exquisite Blog Tour, you can do so at the following dates:
Exquisite blog tour poster (1)

BUYING LINKS:
Amazon UK: click here

Leave a Reply

