The Postcard – Fern Britton – #blogtour

the Postcard

I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour today for The Postcard, written by Fern Britton and published by HarperFiction.

BLURB:
Penny Leighton has never told anyone why she’s estranged from her mother and sister. For years she’s kept her family secrets locked away in her heart, but they’ve been quietly eating away at her. When an unwelcome visitor blows in, Penny is brought face to face with the past. And a postcard, tucked away in a long-hidden case, holds the truth that could change everything.

Young Ella has come back to the place where she spent a happy childhood with her grandmother. Now she’s here to search for everything missing in her life. Taken under Penny’s broken wing for the summer, the safe haven of Pendruggan feels like the place for a fresh start. Soon, however, Ella starts to wonder if perhaps her real legacy doesn’t lie in the past at all.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Capture
Fern Britton is the highly acclaimed author of five Sunday Times bestselling novels: A Seaside Affair, The Holiday Home, Hidden Treasures, New Beginnings and A Good Catch. Her books are cherished for their warmth, wit and wisdom, and have won Fern legions of loyal readers. Fern is likely best known for her years co-presenting ITV’s flagship daytime show This Morning with Philip Schofield. An iconic presenter, she is also hugely popular for her earlier hits like Ready Steady Cook, and All Star Mr and Mrs, as well as being a much-loved contestant in 2012’s Strictly Come Dancing. She recently presented The Big Allotment Challenge for BBC2 in 2014 and again for its second series in 2015, as well as For What It’s Worth, an antiques-based quiz show on BBC1. Fern lives with her husband, Phil Vickery, and her four children in Buckinghamshire and Cornwall.

MY REVIEW: I would like to thank Fern Britton, Emilie Chambeyron, HarperFiction and Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of The Postcard prior to taking part and being a stop on the blog tour. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

OK, so I’m going to be honest and straight with you all here … and I’ll whisper this, but The Postcard is the first novel by Fern Britton I’ve read. No doubt all you Fern fans out there are shouting ‘what?’ and ‘where have you been?’ at me, and you know what … I don’t blame you. What a read! I’ve been transported to a place I’ve never been before and I loved it, I really REALLY want to go back because I have come out the other end feeling so happy and on top of the world. Fern Britton, you’re such a talented lady! This is a stunning story.

Fern’s characterisation is immense. The characters felt real to me. It was almost like I was in Cornwall watching all the drama unfold in front of me and when I say drama, I mean ‘drama’. Arrrrrr I would so love for the BBC or ITV to pick this up. Even Suzie’s character – the nastiest of them all … come on, we all know one – was a magnificent personality which really flipped the lid and turned the book 360 because you know, you’re steadily going along and happy and smiley and like real life there’s always one person who has to spoil it. Oh yes, The Postcard had this too.

Now, what I need to do is go and find some more novels by the incredibly talented Fern Britton and make sure along the way I tell as many people about these ‘transport you to the most happiest of places’ novels because I need someone to discuss them with – The Postcard has me bursting at the seams due to ending on a cliff hanger and I’m sitting desperately needing to know what’s going to happen next!!

BLOG TOUR DETAILS:
If you would like to follow the The Postcard Blog Tour, you can do so at the following dates:
The Postcard blog tour banner

LINKS:
Website: click here
Facebook: click here
Twitter: click here

Leave a Reply

