The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen – #blogtour


I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour today for The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen, written by Hendrick Groen and published by Penguin Books.

BLURB:
In the vein of bestsellers like A Man Called Ove or The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry comes a funny, tender-hearted tale about friendship, love, and an old man who is young at heart.

Hendrik Groen may be old, but he is far from dead and isn’t planning to be buried any time soon. Granted, his daily strolls are getting shorter because his legs are no longer willing and he has to visit his doctor more than he’d like. Technically speaking he is…elderly. But surely there is more to life at his age than weak tea and potted geraniums.

Hendrik sets out to write an exposé: a year in the life of his care home in Amsterdam, revealing all its ups and downs–not least his new endeavor the anarchic Old-But-Not-Dead Club. And when Eefje moves in–the woman Hendrik has always longed for–he polishes his shoes (and his teeth), grooms what’s left of his hair and attempts to make something of the life he has left, with hilarious, tender and devastating consequences.

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen will not only delight older readers with its wit and relevance, but will charm and inspire those who have years to go before their own expiry date.

MY REVIEW: I would like to thank Hendrick Groen, Sam Deacon, Penguin Books and Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to read an ARC of The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen prior to taking part and being a stop on the blog tour. I can confirm that I chose to read this ARC and all opinions in this review are my own and are completely unbiased.

Well, they say the sign of a great book is when you’re sad to close the last page. I can tell you, this is me right now. What a hilarious, yet sometimes sad, account of what growing old is all about. 

The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen follows Hendrick Groen over a year in his Amsterdam care home and with many ups, down, happy and sad times, what a journey I’ve been on. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried … I’ve cried a lot actually … but most of all I’ve sat staring off into space wondering if when I’m old, life in a care home will be like this. I can tell you now, if I ever end up in a care home, there better be a Hendrick – if there isn’t I’ll be disappointed!

Over the course of the year, I learnt that Hendrick can be grumpy, he can be mischievous and he can be damn right cantankerous but overall his positives far outweighs his negatives and armed with his friends Evert and Eefje, anything can happen.

Overall, I give The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen 5*, however I seriously and honestly don’t think it’s enough. I think it’s worth many many more stars. And just like the 5* isn’t enough to harbour a rating, I don’t think anything I put into my review will ever give it enough justice. I sincerely beg as many of you as possible to please purchase and read this novel. You will not be disappointed. I will warn you however that a box of tissues is a necessity; for tears that will come from both crying as well as laughing.

What a beautiful heart rending but uplifting read! I loved it!

BLOG TOUR DETAILS:
If you would like to follow the The Secret Diary of Hendrick Groen Blog Tour, you can do so at the following dates:

LINKS:
Amazon: click here

Leave a Reply

